Public Holidays in 2023

Public Holidays in 2023


National Holidays

The new year is back with a bang, and we cannot wait to share the list of holidays with you. New beginnings, new vibes, and new everything are what the new year brings for us. Here, we will go through the list of public holidays in 2023. Start planning your trips in the year started! Dates might be modified (until the official announcements). Some are restricted to specific states, while others are nationwide.

List of Public Holidays in 2023

Detailed Description of Public Holidays in 2023

The following table shows the list of public holidays in 2023.

Date and Day Public holidays in 2023 Holiday type
1st Jan, Sunday New Year’s Day Nationwide
4th Jan, Wednesday Gaan-Ngai Restricted
11th Jan, Wednesday Missionary Day Restricted
12th Jan, Thursday Swami Vivekanand Jayanti Restricted
14 Jan, Saturday Makar Sankranti Restricted
15 Jan, Sunday Pongal Restricted
23rd Jan, Monday Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Restricted
26th Jan, Thursday Republic Day Nationwide
5th Feb, Sunday Hazrat Ali Jayanti Restricted
5th Feb, Sunday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Restricted
18th Feb, Saturday Maha Shivaratri Restricted
7th March, Tuesday Holi (Dehaant) Restricted
8th March, Wednesday Holi Nationwide
22nd March, Wednesday Gudi Padwa Restricted
30th March, Thursday Ram Navami Restricted
4th April, Tuesday Mahavir Jayanti Restricted
7th April, Friday Good Friday Restricted
8th April, Saturday Easter Saturday Restricted
9th April, Sunday Easter Sunday Restricted
14th April, Friday Dr. Ambedkar Jayanti Restricted
14th April, Friday Vaisakhi Restricted
22nd April, Saturday  Idul Fitr Nationwide
5th May, Friday Buddha Purnima Restricted
23rd May, Tuesday  Sri Guru Arjan Dev Ji Martyrdom Day Restricted
29th June, Thursday Bakrid Restricted
5th July, Wednesday Guru Hargobind Ji’s Birthday Restricted
29th July, Saturday Muharram Restricted
15th August, Tuesday Independence Day Nationwide
30th August, Thursday Raksha Bandhan Restricted
6th September, Wednesday Janmashtami Restricted
19th  September, Tuesday Ganesh Chaturthi Restricted
28th Sept, Thursday Eid E Milad Restricted
2nd Oct, Monday Gandhi Jayanti Nationwide
21st Oct, Saturday Maha Saptmi Restricted
22nd Oct, Sunday Maha Ashtmi Restricted
23rd Oct, Monday Maha Navmi Restricted
24th Oct, Tuesday Vijay Dashmi Nationwide
12th Nov, Sunday Diwali Nationwide
13th Nov, Monday Diwali Holiday Nationwide
15th Nov, Wednesday Bhai Dooj Restricted
19th Nov, Sunday Chhath Puja Restricted
27th Nov, Monday Guru Nanak Jayanti Nationwide
17th Dec, Sunday Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji’s Martyrdom Day Restricted
25th Dec, Monday Christmas Day Nationwide

Major Holidays in 2023

  • There are some major public holidays nationwide in 2023. These include the major festivals and the national holidays of remembrance.

National Holidays

We observe three national holidays in India- republic day, independence day, and Gandhi Jayanti.

  • Republic day- This day remarks the official establishment of the Indian constitution. It is celebrated on January 26 and is declared a national public holiday. There are celebrations on the remembrance of Indian soldiers, freedom fighters, and cultural values of India. One may see the famous republic day parade at India gate!
  • Independence Day- This day commemorates the freedom of India and is on August 15. It is when the country celebrated its freedom and got free from British rule. People fly kites and celebrate nationalism all over the country.
  • Gandhi Jayanti- Also called the Bapu of India, Mahatma Gandhi was an influential figure in the fight for independence. This day is dedicated to his service and is on October 2. It is usual to pay tribute to Mahatma Gandhi.

Major Festivals

India is known for its festivals, cultural values, and diversity. Some major festivals are celebrated in India and recognized as public holidays nationwide.

  • Holi- The festival of colors, Holi is celebrated nationwide and recognized as one of the most fun festivals. People play with water and colors and celebrate the uniqueness of each other! Although a Hindu festival, Holi is enjoyed by almost every religion. It’s majorly about fun culture rather than the root values.
  • Diwali- Did you see India light up every October- November? That’s the magic of Diwali. The festival of lights is yet another Hindu festival that people love celebrating. Diwali is all about eating, dancing, and having fun.
  • Christmas – The birth of Jesus is celebrated nationwide in India. People party, enjoy, and jam on the day of Christmas. Although a Christian festival, Christmas is celebrated nationwide.
  • New Year’s Day- All celebrate the new beginnings of the year! January 1 is recognized as a national holiday when people can spend their precious time with loved ones.

These dates may differ until the official government announcements. Plan your trips, and remember the long weekend holidays!

The post Public Holidays in 2023 appeared first on EDUCBA.



Full Courses

source